Leixlip GAA Golf Society

Welcome to Leixlip GAA Golf Society’s website.

Founded in 1995 by members of of St. Mary’s GAA Golf Club, Leixlip, Co. Kildare, we usually go on 9 or 10 outings a year, including one weekend away.  Each month we play a different course.  If you’re new to the area or fancy taking up golf please feel free to come along to one of our outings as a visitor and see what it’s all about.  New members and sponsors always welcome

Recent Announcements





sat 28th March      09.45    Corballis


Sat 25th April          09.30 Elm Green


Fri 15th May              12.00   Concra Woods                                     Weekend Away


Sat 16 th May             12.00     Mannan Castle                                   Weekend Away


Sat 27th June           09.45       Tulfarris                                           Captains Day


Sat 25th July              11.45  Lisheen Springs


Fri  21st August        14.30     Lucan                                                    Presidents Day

Sat 26th  September     10.45    ST Margarets


Sat 24th October                         Kilcock                                           Ronnie King Cup




Latest Handicaps


Surname Name 2020
Andrews Pat 36(+10)
Bowden Martin 33
Byrne Brian 18
Carney Padraig 21
Cronin Mick 8
Ellison Pat 20
Forde P.J. 36
Fox Billy 19
Graham Sean 34
Hannifey Brian 36(+6)
Hilliard Pat 36(+1)
Kernaghan Martin 33
Kirwan Pat 33
Maher Brendan 20
Masterson Eneas 22
McNamee Joe 12
McNeill Kevin 32
Melville Tom
Mooney Ger 32
Mooney Richie 29
Mulligan Mick 15
Murphy Alan
Murphy Eddie 18
Murphy Robbie 23
O’Connor P.J. 15
Prendergast Eddie 21
Roche John 24
Ryan Matt 15
Ryan Pat 27
Savage Gareth 10
Shinnors Diarmaid 10
Shinnors Lorcan 14
Stoker Craig 23

Last Outing Results


Prize Name Points H/Cap
Winner Matt Ryan 39 15
 1st Class 1 Gar Savage 35(cb) 10
1st Class 2 John Roche 32 24
1st Class 3 Ger Mooney 32 32
2s Eddie Murphy
Matt Ryan
Gar Savage

Match Play Competition

Matchplay 2018

Singles Matchplay 2018


  • Entry fee to play (€10, agreed at AGM)
  • All fees collected will be used to pay for a venue for the final, a meal for the finalists and prizes.
  • The H/C that applies for each round will be the Society H/C as applying for each round.
  • Matches will be played in accordance with the rules of golf for singles matchplay.
  • In accordance with CONGU recommendation’s the full difference between players handicaps will be allowed but the maximum handicap allowed is 28 for men.
  • Matches should be played as singles matchplay separately from outings. Any matches played in conjunction with an outing will be played in Stableford format (i.e. matchplay is not allowed).
    • The best total Stableford score for the round will win the match
    • In the event of a tie the winner will be decided by a count back in the usual way (B9, B6 etc). If still tied the winner will be decided by the toss of a coin.


Draw: Players are drawn randomly. As there are 14 participants 2 players get a bye (1st two drawn) into the 2nd round (Quarter final) and 12 others play in a 1st round. The 1st name drawn has home advantage for that match and is obliged to make contact with his opponent. It’s  both players responsibility to arrange the match. A separate draw will be made for each round. The venue for the final will be agreed by the finalists and if not will be decided by the Society Committee.


Round 1. Played by 23rd June (Killeen Castle Outing) Handicaps apply after Millicent outing (21st Apr) Round 2. Played by 21st July (Killeen Outing) Handicaps apply after Killeen Castle outing (23rd June)


(Bye to R2)  Sean Graham


Sean Graham v


(Bye to R2)  Eddie Prendergast


Joe McNamee or Mark Carroll


P J Forde  v Billy Fox


L Shinnors or D Shinnors v


Mick Mulligan v Mick Cronin


Mick Mulligan or Mick Cronin


Ger Mooney v Brendan Maher


P J Forde or Billy Fox v


Lorcan Shinnors v Diarmaid Shinnors


Ger Mooney or Brendan Maher


Eddie Murphy v Richie Mooney


Eddie Murphy or Richie Mooney v


Joe McNamee v Mark Carroll


Eddie Prendergast



Semi-final. Played by 24th Aug (Hermitage) Handicaps apply after Killeen Outing

Final. Played by 22nd Sept (Naas) Handicaps apply after Hermitage outing



Joe McNamee (singles match play co-ordinator)